Tech Alchemy
Alchemy Infused Tech News

3X DVD, an Uppercut to Blu Ray?

I have been trying my best to stay out of the whole VHS vs Betamax round 2 thing going on, but that doesn’t mean I won’t watch the fight. I have no problem sitting on the sidelines until one bloody victor emerges.

I have heard that HD DVD is winning, but then I hear that Blu Ray is making a comeback because of the PS3. But it is still way too early to declair a clear winner. HD DVD thinks they have the upper hand with 3X DVD.

Basically 3X DVD allows manufactures to use current Red Lazer DVD technology to burn HD DVD material. Just change some software around to encode the content and use a double layer DVD. Cheap HD content on based on current technology.

I still don’t know if that is going to help place the final blow on Blu Ray or not… but we will see how well this works. I just want a winner soon, because I love movies, but I won’t buy any new ones until the dust has settled on this one.

Full story found here at Engadget.

No Responses to “3X DVD, an Uppercut to Blu Ray?”

Leave a Reply

