Tech Alchemy
Alchemy Infused Tech News

Back to School List (If I were actually heading back to school)

back-to.gif

So I was watching GeekBrief this morning, and it gave me the idea for this post. The whole episode was about back to school gadgets. Well it was actually about buying $200 worth of gadgets from K-Mart for back to school, but it made me want to make a list of the gadgets I would want, if I were going back to school. For my list, I am not going to limit myself budget wise, but it is going to be geared toward college. So I will act as if I need to pimp out my dorm room and so on…

Let’s start with the what every college student needs, a computer. Now I love having a desktop, but for school I think a laptop makes more sense. Personally I would go with a MacBook Pro 15 inch. The only reason I would go for the Pro versus the plain old MacBook is because I need the extra power. Because I do video editing, and I know I would need that better graphics card that the MacBook Pro has. For all of my friends though, if they are on a budget, I would say go for the MacBook. They are cheaper and will give most anyone more than enough power than they need. Most people I know really just use a computer for writing, surfing the web, listening to music, and watching movies.

Usually at this point, because I mentioned watching movies and listening to music, most people would then put an iPod on their list. Well I am not going to do that. Mainly because I believe that there will be new iPods coming out in the next few months. So… moving on…

For the dorm, I would get a Vizio VW32L HDTV. This baby is big enough that you and all your drunk buddies can watch football on Monday night, but not too big that it wouldn’t fit into your tiny dorm room.

Now since you have got an HDTV, why not put some HD content on there? This is where I am a little torn though. I haven’t jumped onto the HD DVD or Blu-Ray camp yet, so I can’t really recommend a dedicated player for one or the other. My way out of this would be to get an Xbox 360 with the HD DVD drive ad on, AND get a PS3. This way you will be able to watch both HD DVD and Blu-Ray, and play all the coolest games. (I know, the Wii is awesome, but it can’t play Hi-Def content, so I’ve got to leave it out.)

Alright, now that you have an awesome entertainment set up, lets get back to studying. I know, I know… who actually studies in college? Well, apparently some people do and this next gadget might help.

Everyone could use a USB Flash Drive and the SanDisk Cruzer Titanium would be an excellent choice. Even though it only holds 512Mb, that should be plenty for your papers. What sets this flash drive apart is that is syncs with Outlook and has password protection. So you needn’t be afraid that your secret plans to take over the world will fall into the wrong hands.

Now everyone needs a backpack, and since you have that shiny new MacBook Pro, you will need a backpack that can carry it. I am recommending the North Face Heckler backpack. I used this baby when I went to Spain. It was comfortable to lug around airports and I am sure it would just as comfortable to lug around campus. It has plenty of space for all of your books, and it has a laptop pouch inside the main compartment. Now I don’t think that this is the safest backpack to put your laptop in, but in all fairness, it wasn’t designed for a laptop.

Your parents love seeing pictures of you, and you love taking pictures to plaster all over Facebook. So it only makes sense to get a decent digital camera. You don’t need anything too fancy like a DSLR, so a pocket sized point and shoot camera will work just fine. So I am recommending the Sony Cyber-Shot DSC-T100. It is the perfect size, so you can take it with you everywhere, and it takes some great pictures. Look out Facebook…

Well I hope you enjoyed my back to school list. If you have anything you would suggest, let me know. I love hearing what other people would spend their back to school money on.

No Responses to “Back to School List (If I were actually heading back to school)”

Leave a Reply

